topps-chrome

For my birthday my wonderful wife gave me two boxes of Star Wars cards. The first was a Topps Star Wars: The Force Awakens Chrome Hobby Box. The other was 2016 Topps Rogue One: Mission Briefing Hobby Box.

This will be a quick review and breakdown of the Chrome box. It is a standard 100 card base set following events from The Force Awakens. There are five Refractor parallel sets. One refractor card comes in every pack. Numbered refractors only come in the hobby box.

  • Prism Refractor parallel set numbered to 99
  • Shimmer Refractor parallel set numbered to 50
  • Pulsar Refractor parallel set numbered to 10
  • SuperFractor parallel base set is numbered 1/1

In addition to the refractors, there are also four insert sets – Heroes of the Resistance, Behind the Scenes, Ships & Vehicles and Power of the First Order. These inserts, like the refractor sets, have three parallel levels. Again the numbered inserts are only in hobby boxes.

  • Shimmer Refractor numbered to 50
  • Pulsar Refractor numbered to 10
  • SuperFractor numbered 1/1

There are also autograph inserts. And again, there are four parallel levels numbered to 25 or less. There are also dual and triple autograph cards. In addition, you can get Sketch cards, relic cards, medallions and 1/1 printing plates.

Anyway, here is my box breakdown.

The Force Awakens Chrome

  • No complete set: missing cards 59, 68, 76, 87, 94, 100
  • Spares: No doubles
  • Refractors: 2, 4, 9, 13, 24, 25, 27, 30, 32, 39, 45, 52, 59, 60, 65, 68, 72, 76, 81, 87, 89, 94,  95, 100
  • Ships & Vehicles: 3, 5, 8
  • Power of the First Order: 2, 6
  • Behind the Scenes: 1, 2, 4, 6 9, 11
  • Heroes of the Resistance: 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18
  • Prism Refractor: Card 25, numbered 29/99
  • Shimmer Refractor: Card 25, numbered 16/50
  • Autograph: David Acord: voice of Teedo Refractor 13/50

I admit to being biased towards this set. I’ve been a Chrome fan since Topps introduced Chrome Football back in 1996. Also, I’ve liked refractors since Topps Finest came out. The inserts and autographs are just a bonus. I’m not really keen on 1/1 cards, but I get why they do it.

I feel my box had a good card mix. I almost completed the base set, and numbered refractors are a nice touch. It was funny that my Prism and Shimmer refractor pulls were the same card (#25 Answering a Distress Call). I wonder if each box duplicates those numbered inserts.

For the right price, I would definitely buy another box (or four). Two boxes means you’ll complete the base set. You’ll also have 48 refractors, which is almost half that set. For serious set builders, I suggest buying five boxes. That should yield three complete sets, a refractor set, plus other inserts and autographs.

And if you pull a special autograph or a 1/1 card…………

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

